Search Site
Menu
New Jersey Enacts Mandatory Paid Sick Leave

New Jersey businesses have six months to implement paid sick leave into employment policies. Governor Phil Murphy signed the bill into law last week.

The law requires employers in the state to provide one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked, for up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year. Employees can use accrued sick leave for preventative care, treatment of a physical or mental illness, to care for sick family members, and even to attend various school-related functions in connection with their child. Employees who use sick days are protected against discrimination and/or retaliation from their employer.

The law includes limitations on how soon an employee can use accrued sick days once employment begins and allows employers to black out certain dates that cannot be taken off. Certain employees, including per-diem hospital employees, are not mandated to accrue paid sick leave.

This law becomes effective on October 29, 2018, 180 days after it was signed.

Our attorneys have extensive experience with employment law matters, including legal compliance issues. Whether you need to make sure your current sick leave policies follow the new law or need to establish new policies, contact partners John Leonard, Keith Leonard, or Paul Schultz at (215) 567-1530 or (856) 273-6679.

Our Attorneys
Video
Contact us

Quick Contact Form